top of page

Sad and disappointed? What to do? - Part 1



​​

Emotional Habits


I believe the key here is to understand that meaning is what creates emotion. Emotions do not happen to us. It is the meaning we give to a certain situation or event that creates emotions. And we can change this meaning at any time by focusing on the good, on the positive. Because what you focus on, grows. If you focus on the positive, it becomes double positive. But if you focus on the negative, it becomes double negative. Beware where your focus is!

What helps me to focus on the good:

  1. Prayer – If you believe in God, prayer is the perfect weapon against any worries

  2. Physical exercises – Immediately put you into a better mood. What happens to the body reflects the mind&soul and vice versa. Exercise the body

  3. Asking new questions – What's the good in this situation? What’s the positive? What can I learn from it? What's the lesson that could help me to become a better person? Always look for the positive

  4. Paying attention to the way I speak with myself, my language.

If you catch yourself in a negative talk, immediately substitute the negative thoughts with positive ones. For example, I can’t – becomes I can. Change Your Thinking, Change Your Life (This is also a title of a book by Brian Tracy – Highly recommended – Change Your Thinking, Change Your Life)

Here, I’d love to finish with special passages from one of my favorite books - The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Just mere thoughts—are as powerful as electric batteries—as good for one as sunlight is, or as bad for one as poison. To let a sad thought or a bad one get into your mind is as dangerous as letting a scarlet fever germ get into your body. If you let it stay there after it has got in you may never get over it as long as you live.

Much more surprising things can happen to any one who, when a disagreeable or discouraged thought comes into his mind, just has the sense to remember in time and push it out by putting in an agreeable determinedly courageous one. Two things cannot be in one place.

“Where you tend a rose, my lad,

A thistle cannot grow.”


Related Posts

See All

My Father - My Greatest Happiness

Hi Friend How are you? I hope you are doing fine. I’m sorry for not having posted any updates lately. I’m happy to say that I’ve finished the 21-days Gratitude Challenge successfully. YES! YES! And ha

Never Miss a Post. 
Subscribe Now
+
Get a FREE GIFT -
5 books
Categories
bottom of page