top of page

A Special Letter - Part 1


My friend,

I’m writing you to tell you that I stayed here in Bucharest with the intention to become a teacher. But I deceived myself.

I’ve reached such a miserable condition that I can’t even describe you. I live extremely poorly. The rags I have, are so torn that I’m ashamed to go on the streets.

I live at the very end of Bucharest in a windmill together with my fellow countryman Vassil Levski.

Don’t ask about our sustenance because hardly in 2-3 days we find bread to relieve our hunger.

My friend Levski, who I live with, is with an unparalleled character. Not only is he cheerful in the best situation, but also in the worst, in the most critical one.

Cold, wood and stone “cracks”, we haven’t eaten for 2 or 3 days, and he sings and is joyful. In the evening, when we go to bed, he sings. In the morning, when he opens his eyes, he sings again. No matter how desperate you are, he will cheer you up and make you forget all the miseries and sufferings. It’s nice to live with such people.


*******************************************************

That letter was written by Botev. Botev and Levski are one of the national heroes of my country.

I’m sharing this special letter with you in the hope to inspire you not to give up. No matter the difficulties, the adversities, stay strong. Remember that every cloud has a silver lining. Don't forget to be your own cheerleader!

One of the hallmarks of the true leader is not only to stay strong in the difficulties, but to encourage others to do the same. Levski is a wonderful example to copy. He was physically, emotionally and spiritually tough. He was a true leader.

Now, what about you? What are you doing for yourself - to be physically, emotionally and spiritually strong?


Related Posts

See All

My Father - My Greatest Happiness

Hi Friend How are you? I hope you are doing fine. I’m sorry for not having posted any updates lately. I’m happy to say that I’ve finished the 21-days Gratitude Challenge successfully. YES! YES! And ha

Never Miss a Post. 
Subscribe Now
+
Get a FREE GIFT -
5 books
Categories
bottom of page