top of page

How to Become a Coach - 19 tips


How to Become a Coach - What I have learned from my role models - Brendon Burchard, Jim Rohn, Bob Heilig and Stefan (from Project Life Mastery) about coaching + my own experience

These tips could be useful to you no matter of your job. They are universal.


1. Constantly become more valuable - become more valuable to the market place. This is the tip number 1 and the core of the success for me.

Below are some great thoughts about that by the one and only Jim Rohn:

1. Success is something you attract because of the person you become.

2. We get paid for bringing value to the marketplace. It takes time,... but we get paid for the value, not the time.

3. The key to getting paid very well in the marketplace is to develop very valuable skills.

4. Don’t bring your needs to the marketplace, bring your skills.

5. Learn to work harder on yourself than you do on your job. If you work hard on your job you can make a living, but if you work hard on yourself you’ll make a fortune.

Please, watch Jim Rohn's video - Become More Valuable in the Marketplace


And another great one - Jim Rohn - Increasing your value


Question: How can you become more valuable to the market place? What skills do you need to learn, develop, master? Public speaking skills, video skills, FB live - whatever it is, start doing it NOW!

2. Show Results – Not you to search for clients, but they to come to you!

"The way you do that is through quality content. Video is great and content is really important. Because I see these coaches - They have "like" a website, a coach name and a picture, but nobody really cares. Nobody knows who you are...Why would they hire you? There is no trust and relationship...

People hire me because they watched my videos. I'm helping them. They receive some sort of benefit of watching me, or they have taken my advice and it has helped them. I'm helping them first and foremost. So they know what they are getting before they hire me just based on my videos, blog, all of my stuff..."

"If you want to be a coach, make sure that you are getting results in your life and you are successful, and have something that other people will want from you..." - Show results!

From How To Be A Life Coach: Life Coaching Tips From A Successful Life Coach by Project Life Mastery - Watch the whole video:


"One of the biggest mistakes life coaches make is they try to go after clients and try to sell them on their coaching. This reeks desperation and why would this person who’s successful have to try to convince people to hire them as their coach? It doesn’t make any sense. A coach needs to be someone that is SUCCESSFUL already, and someone that is successful isn’t desperate to get clients to work with them."

3. Care about Your Customers – Show empathy and compassion; Provide excellent service.

“Approach your work from a place of service in your heart and mind” (from The Millionaire Messenger by Brendon Burchard) http://millionairemessenger.com/ is the official site where you can get the book (as far as I remember for 7 dollars) + some great bonuses

4. Offer “Killer” Content – Content is really the king!

5. Be Distinctive – Don’t be a copycat. Be different and original! Be yourself :-)

6. Share Free Advice on a Consistent Basis – Videos, blogs, podcasts, books - A taste to your paid programs and services

7. Do more videos - Video is the fastest way to build trust and relationship

8. Put out there different content – Variety is the spice of life

9. Offer free coaching (for beginners) - to develop your name

"I want to transition into coaching and I'm offering 5 free sessions to 5 different people where I will spend 30 min or an hour with you. I will work with you for the next 3 months. And I'm offering this for free because I want to build up my name. I want to build up my skills. I want to build up my ability to coach and serve. And you will be my guinea pig. You are going to be my beta tester. You are going to give me feedback. At the end of the 3 months, I want you to tell me how I did, what I can improve, what I could do better. Hopefully if I help you to get results, you can provide a great testimonial for me, as well.

(from How to Become A Life Coach by Stefan from Project Life Mastery)


10. Set up a website and get testimonials (a good idea is also video testimonials)

11. Do FB live shows – Think about it as your own TV show. Isn't it cool? That is your own TV show, your show. You are the director, there are no advertisements, no interruptions. Your own TV show - FB live - each week or day, whatever is better for you, but to be on a consistent basis. Give value! I don't want when I turn on your TV channel to see ads. Also, don't forget that most people will watch your FB live show after you've done it. Always give your best, no matter how small is your audience! Something important to consider here - You can mix FB live with your videos from YouTube, but don't neglect FB live as it provides high exposure and real-time communication with your audience.

Some days ago, I watched the FB live show of Bob Heilig. I do that regularly, but this time he was broadcasting simultaneously on 3 different platforms - his FB Business Page, his FB personal page and Periscope. It was pretty cool.

Don't miss out this awesome opportunity of showing yourself!

Can't wait for YOUR show :-)

12. Focus on developing new skills

13. Become a master in your subject – “Mastery is a way of life” (from The Millionaire Messenger by Brendon Burchard)

14. Share your story

“What is a story of struggle from your past that could illustrate to your audience that you have struggled through something similar to what they are struggling through?”(from The Millionaire Messenger by Brendon Burchard)

15. Share more of your struggles than your accomplishments, so that people can relate to you – “Do you want to go on a date with someone who’s only bragging?

Audiences want to know, in this order:

1. Who are you and what have you been through in life that I can relate to in my own life?

2. What have you overcome and how?

3. What did you figure out along the way?

4. What did you succeed at—what results did you get?

5. What are you going to teach me that I can apply now to make my life better?” (from The Millionaire Messenger by Brendon Burchard)

16. Get promotional partners

“…If you can get those experts to promote your message to their base of fans, followers, and subscribers, then you immediately amplify your message as well as your income." (from The Millionaire Messenger by Brendon Burchard)

In return, however, you also have to provide value to them!

17. Build your personal brand

“People don’t join companies. They join other people. If you have hard time recruiting, that means that the prospects you are approaching, don’t feel that you have enough unique value or skills to offer them. It doesn’t mean, you don’t have them. It means you haven’t marketed, demonstrated to them yet. Marketing – learn how to demonstrate your value to the world.” Bob Heilig (I love this guy! He provides great value - Please, check out his website and his FB page, too!)

18. Strive for excellence


19. Learn and grow on a consistent basis - We should always strive to improve and develop ourselves, not to sit at one place, but move, move forward... and strive to be better and better. The moment when we stop moving, we degrade in every sense of the word, because – Life is movement and movement is life. That’s why running water doesn’t smell bad, because it is in constant motion. And the stagnant water in the swamps gets mold and bad smell

(from The daily diet of positive words – Word of the Day 9 – STRIVE - Inspiration from Dimi)


Read also - What I have learned from Brendon Burchard about the role of the coach + my view about it: High Performance Coaching


Related Posts

See All

My Father - My Greatest Happiness

Hi Friend How are you? I hope you are doing fine. I’m sorry for not having posted any updates lately. I’m happy to say that I’ve finished the 21-days Gratitude Challenge successfully. YES! YES! And ha

Never Miss a Post. 
Subscribe Now
+
Get a FREE GIFT -
5 books
Categories
bottom of page